Mayor & City Council

Council Meetings

  • 6:30 pm
  • 1st and 3rd Monday of each month
  • City Hall
    116 W Main Street
    Council Chambers
    Albertville, AL 35950

The meeting schedule may change if the scheduled meeting falls on a holiday.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings by contacting the City Clerk or are available for viewing at City Hall. Minutes are available following approval.


Jill Oakley

Council Member Place 2

Jill Oakley

Jill Oakley Contact & Biography

Nathan Broadhurst

City Council President

Nathan Broadhurst

Nathan Broadhurst Contact & Biography

Charles Bailey

Council Member Place 3

Charles Bailey

Charles Bailey Contact & Biography

Ben McGowan

Council President Pro-Tem

Ben McGowan

Ben McGowan Contact & Biography

Ray Kennamer

Council Member Place 4

Ray Kennamer

Ray Kennamer Contact & Biography

Mayor/Council Form of Government

The City of Albertville has a Mayor-Council form of government with a Mayor and Council Members that are elected at large every four years. At-large members are elected to serve the same constituency, which is the population of the city as a whole. In this form of government:

  • The City Council is the governing body of the City and:
    • Determines all municipal policies such as the City Budget
    • Adopts ordinances and resolutions
    • Establishes long and short-term objectives and priorities
    • Communicates policies and programs to residents
    • Responds to constituent needs and complaints
    • Represents the community to other levels of government
  • The Mayor is directly elected by citizens and serves as the chief executive officer, centralizing executive power. The Mayor directs the administrative structure, appointing and removing department heads. The Mayor oversees daily operations of the City.

City Council

The City Council is an elected body of legislators who govern the municipality. The Albertville City Council consists of five members and each member is elected by the citizens of Albertville. As local legislators, council members are responsible for and responsive to the citizens who elected them.

To be eligible to be elected and to retain a Council position, a person must be a registered voter of Albertville. The City Council members are elected for 4-year terms.

Congratulations to our current Mayor & City Councilmen and women for collectively running unopposed for the upcoming administration, effectively taking office November, 2020!

Contact a Council Member

City Council members can be contacted in writing, via email or by phone. Access the Staff Directory to find more contact information.